Branding


Utility Container

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Search Trigger (container)

Off Canvas Navigation Container

Close Trigger (container)

Academic News

Deborah F. McGann


McGann, Deborah
Oct 14, 2019, 7:04 PM (2 days ago)
to Everyone, FLIK, Darcy, Ben

Greetings MSSM Community,

Today, the MSSM Offices were closed for Indigenous Peoples' Day.  At the Open House, student admissions ambassadors gave tours, faculty welcomed visiting students into their classrooms and interviewed prospective students, and a cross-section of our community participated in a community panel Q&A session. Prospective students visited classes and our guests departed following a community panel and performances by A Capella, Chorus, Band, Strings, and Jazz Band.


On Wednesday, we have an altered schedule to allow students to take the PSAT/NMSQT. For Juniors, who are or are in the process of becoming U.S. citizens, this serves as the qualifying exam for the National Merit® Scholarship Program.  According to the website, the 50,000 Juniors with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® scores (~ 5%) will be notified next September that they qualify for recognition as either a Commended Student or Semifinalist. From there, Semifinalists may move on to finalist and winners based on academic record, activities and leadership, MSSM’s curricula and grading system, SAT test scores, a letter of recommendation, and an essay. Good luck Juniors!


Although all morning classes are cancelled on Wednesday, everyone has an alternative commitment. While Juniors and some sophomores sit for the PSAT/NMSQT, the seniors work on college essays with the help of a number of faculty members. Freshman and first-year sophomores not taking the PSAT/NMSQT will meet in B101 for “Prime for Life”, an evidence-based prevention and intervention program to help individuals learn to reduce their risks of alcohol and drug related problems. Returning sophomores are scheduled for a viewing and discussion of “The Last Lecture”, a video of a professor from Carnegie Mellon University giving a special lecture to his community which is relevant for all of us.  The regular daily schedule resumes after lunch.

  • Seniors/Faculty College Essay Review Lower Lounge 9:00 am - 11:30 am
  • Juniors - PSAT Testing Academic Wing 8:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • Sophomores taking PSAT Testing Academic Wing 8:30 am - 12:00 pm
  • Sophomores not taking PSAT Last Lecture Meet in B111 8:15 am - 12:15 pm
  • Freshmen Prime for Life Workshop Meet in B101 8:15 am - 12:15 am

Thursday, October 17, marks the first of six monthly math meets of the New England Math League (NEML). These thirty-minute competitions, independent of the Maine Association of Math Leagues, are administered immediately after lunch and are open to all MSSM students.

Mrs. Farley has been busy sending out parent schedules for Parent Conferences on October 18-19. We look forward to welcoming families to campus. There is an alternate academic schedule for Friday whereby labs and Senior Seminar scheduled in the 10:20 lab block will be starting at 8:30 am. Senior Seminar scheduled in the 11:15 block will meet at 9:25. Once conferences begin at 10:30 am, no other classes will be held. Families generally have a break between each ten minute conference to allow for transit time. Faculty have appointments back to back so we ask that everyone adhere to the conference schedule. Please review the Parent Conferences Schedule to see the times for college sessions, open forums, soccer games, band and choral small group performances, the annual Student Senate photo auction, the Prom Committee  Halloween auction, and a Parents' Association meeting. Buses depart promptly at 7:00 am on Saturday morning. Conferences continue from 8:30 am to 1:00 pm when the dorms close for the extended weekend. 


Below is a summary list of events for the next two weeks:


Monday, October 14

  • Open House 9-3:30
  • Office Closed - Columbus Day

Wednesday, October 16

  • PSAT/College Essay Help & Other Activities  7:30am - 1pm
  • Regular Class Schedule Resumes 1:10 pm
  • Youth in Government Caucus Session B  5 - 9:30pm

Thursday, October 17

  • NEML Math Contest #1 12:30 - 1:00pm

Friday, October 18

  • Friday Labs and Seminars 8:30 - 10:20
  • Parent Conferences  10:30am - 5pm

Saturday, October 19

  • Parent Conferences  8:30am - 1:00pm

Wednesday, October 23

  • Classes Resume

Thursday, October 24

  • All School Meeting - Star City Syndicate Live Concert 3:10 pm

Friday, October 25

  • LifeTouch Photo Retakes 8:30am – 1:30pm B101

Saturday, October 26

  • ACT Testing 7:30am – 1pm

Best,
Deborah F. McGann | Dean of Faculty 

November 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2
Sun, Nov 3
Mon, Nov 4
Tue, Nov 5
Wed, Nov 6
Thu, Nov 7
Fri, Nov 8
Sat, Nov 9
Sun, Nov 10
Mon, Nov 11
Tue, Nov 12
Wed, Nov 13
Thu, Nov 14
Fri, Nov 15
Sat, Nov 16
Sun, Nov 17
Mon, Nov 18
Tue, Nov 19
Wed, Nov 20
Thu, Nov 21
Fri, Nov 22
Sat, Nov 23
Sun, Nov 24
Mon, Nov 25
Tue, Nov 26
Wed, Nov 27
Thu, Nov 28
Fri, Nov 29
Sat, Nov 30